Introduction to Halal Foods
angel smiley face Muslims around the world practice the religion of Islam. The practice of Islam includes observing dietary laws which come from Islamic teachings. Islamic dietary laws define foods that are Halal, meaning lawful or permitted. Muslims avoid food and beverages that are Haram, meaning not permitted.

Many foods are clearly Halal or clearly Haram. However, certain foods are difficult to classify because of the ingredients they contain. Check for Halal certification or read food labels. Check carefully each time you buy food products, as manufacturers may change ingredients without notice.

For meat and poultry to be Halal, it must be slaughtered according to Islamic dietary laws (Zabihah).
Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)
devil smiley face
  • Rice
  • Pasta
  • Any grain product, such as bread, breakfast cereal or baked goods prepared without Haram ingredients
  • All vegetables and fruit: raw, dried, frozen or canned.
  • All vegetables and fruit cooked or served with water, butter, or vegetable oils
  • Milk
  • Yogourt, cheese and ice cream made with bacterial culture or microbial enzymes, e.g. microbial rennet
  • Meat and poultry slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law ("Zabihah).
  • Seafood
  • Eggs
  • Nuts, seeds
  • Peanut Butter
  • Tofu
  • Halal deli meats
  • Dried beans, peas and lentils
  • Beverages: carbonated drinks, fruit juice, punch, cocktails, tea and coffee
  • Fats and oils: butter, margarine, mayonnaise, vegetable oils and some salad dressings
  • Miscellaneous: chutneys, coconut milk, jam, pickles, spices
  • Desserts made with agar and/or carrageenan base only
  • Sweeteners: honey, sugar, syrup, chocolate liquor (roasted ground cocoa bean syrup)
  • Main dish entrées: any Zabihah meat or alternative dish, pizza, pasta or rice prepared without Haram foods and ingredients
  • Soups/sauces: any made without Haram foods and ingredients
  • Desserts and sweets: any made without alcohol, or without pure or artificial vanilla extract
Haram Foods (Not Permitted)
  • Any grain products prepared with Haram ingredients such as alcohol, animal shortening, lard or pure and artificial vanilla extract
  • Any vegetables and fruit prepared with alcohol, animal shortening, bacon, gelatin, lard or some margarines which contain monoglycerides or diglycerides from an animal source
  • Cheese, yogourt, ice cream, frozen tofu desserts made with animal rennet, gelatin, lipase, pepsin, pure or artificial vanilla extract or whey
  • Pork and pork products, e.g. bacon, deli meats, ham and sausage
  • Blood used as an ingredient or used in preparing the food
  • Meat and poultry not slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law
  • Canned beans, peas and lentils containing pork
  • Any meat and meat alternative dish prepared with alcohol, pork products or animal shortening
  • Beverages: beer, wine, alcohol, liqueur
  • Fats and oils: animal shortening, lard
  • Miscellaneous: chocolates/candies made with alcohol or pure or artificial vanilla extract
  • Desserts made with gelatin
  • Sweeteners: chocolate liqueur (made from alcohol
  • Main dish entrées: any combination foods prepared with Haram foods and ingredients
  • Soups/sauces: any prepared with Haram foods and ingredients
  • Desserts and sweets: any prepared with alcohol, pure or artificial vanilla extract or any other Haram ingredient
Just don't eat these things:
  • Pork and its by-products e.g. gelatin, lipase, pepsin
  • Meat from animals not slaughtered according to the Islamic dietary law
  • Alcohol and foods prepared with alcohol e.g. candies and cakes that include alcohol such as rum cake
  • Foods made with pure or artificial vanilla extract (vanilla is prepared with alcohol)
  • Foods containing blood and blood by-products e.g. blood pudding
  • Foods made with any of the following: whey prepared with non-microbial enzyme, rennet, animal shortening, monoglycerides and diglycerides from an animal source, sodium stearoyl-lactylate, L-cysteine.